Archive for the ‘Awards’ Category

Congrats to our winners

Hats off — or as a former Cincinnati Enquirer columnist used to say, “clapclapclap” — for Region 4 Mark of Excellence winners recognized at the national conference. While SPJ announced the winners and finalists back in May, they invited all MOE honorees to “The Student Union” in Anaheim to offer an in-person congratulations.

Region 4 had 13 honorees — either winners or finalists. See them in yellow on MOE 12 WINNERS — and send them a congrats if you know them.

Speaking of congrats: Here’s one more. Clapclapclap for the Ohio University SPJ chapter, selected as the Region 4 chapter of the year. Here’s what I said in nominating the chapter, after reading its annual report: “Eighteen programs in one year! Wow and double wow! And all sound very compelling. What an accomplishment. I was especially impressed with your Skype strategy — bringing big names (from Digital First, Reporters Without Borders, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal and ESPN) to little Athens without travel costs. Hats off, too, for pairing with the Scripps school, PRSSA and RTDNA to stage events and boost crowds.”

BTW, OU edged out OSU by just one event. It staged 17 solid programs and was a close contender for our chapter of the year.

Good work, all!

First Amendment Defender Award nominations now being accepted

We are now taking nominations for our Region 4/Region 5 Dick Goehler First Amendment Defender Award.

Here is the information to nominate someone – Dick passed away shortly before our regional last year and was a staunch First Amendment/Media lawyer for Cincinnati firm Frost Brown Todd LLC.

SPJ Regions 4 and 5 are accepting nominations for the Dick Goehler First Amendment Defender Award. The Dick Goehler First Amendment Defender Award was established by Regions 4 and 5 of the Society of Professional Journalists in 2011 to honor the work and memory of Cincinnati attorney Dick Goehler of Frost, Brown, Todd in defending the First Amendment rights of journalists and citizens in Ohio, Kentucky and elsewhere. Nominees should be working journalists, educators or attorneys working primarily in the field of media law and first amendment issues. Nominees should reside or work in Regions 4 and 5 of SPJ. Region 4 covers Ohio, Michigan, West Virginia and Western Pennsylvania. Region 5 covers Kentucky, Indiana and Illinois.  The award will be presented at the Region 4 Conference in Lansing, Michigan (March 23 and 24) or the Region 5 Conference in Indianapolis (April 13 and 14). The site will be determined by the region in which the winner lives and/or works, or where they can attend the conference accept the award. Entries are due February 27. Send completed award applications and questions about this to Robyn Davis Sekula, award coordinator, at or call her at (502) 608-6125. Click here to download the application.


Twitter Facebook Google Plus RSS Instagram Pinterest Pinterest LinkedIn

© Society of Professional Journalists. All rights reserved. Legal

Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center, 3909 N. Meridian St., Indianapolis, IN 46208
317/927-8000 | Fax: 317/920-4789 | Contact SPJ Headquarters | Employment Opportunities | Advertise with SPJ