Who’s who in Region 4

According to SPJ.org, Region 4 currently includes six professional chapters — Detroit, Mid-Michigan, Central Ohio, Cleveland, Cincinnati and Pittsburgh. Student chapters number 16, with two in Michigan, eight in Ohio, four in Pennsylvania and two in West Virginia. With efforts underway to create a new student chapter at Waynesville University in southeastern Pennsylvania, we’ll soon be at 23 chapters.

As I settle in as Region 4 director, I’d like to clean up our roster. Can you help by sending corrections to the list below? (Many of you are getting an email on this, too, but I thought I’d back it up here with a posting that I’ll revise with  your additions/deletions.) I especially need help gathering the names and email addresses of student chapter presidents.

Pro chapters

Detroit: Walter Middlebrook, president, wmiddlebrook@detnews.com.

Mid-Michigan: Melissa Anders, president, melissa.d.anders@gmail.com.

Central Ohio: Eric Lyttle, president, elyttle@theotherpaper.com.

Cleveland: Cheryl d’Mello, president, cheryldmello@hotmail.com.

Cincinnati: Alex Coolidge, president, acoolidge@enquirer.com.

Pittsburgh: Louis Florian, president, lfflorian@yahoo.com.

Student chapters:

Eastern Michigan University: Jim Pinson, adviser, james.pinson@emich.edu.

Michigan State University: Joe Grimm, adviser, joe.grimm@gmail.com.

Bowling Green State University: Mike Horning, adviser, mhornin@bgsu.edu.

Cleveland State University: Anup Kumar, adviser, akakumar@gmail.com.

John Carroll University: Carrie Buchanan, adviser, cbuchanan@jcu.com.

Miami University: Patricia Gallagher Newberry, adviser, newberpg@muohio.edu; Amanda Schumaker, president, schumaam@muohio.edu.

Ohio State University: Dan Caterinicchia, adviser, dan.cat@gmail.com; Alexis Preskar, president, preskar1@osu.edu.

Ohio University: Nerissa Young, adviser, youngn2@ohio.edu.

University of Cincinnati: Jenny Wohlfarth, adviser, jenny.wohlfarth@uc.edu.

University of Toledo: Paulette Kilmer, adviser, pkilmer@pop3.utoledo.edu.

California State University of Pennsylvania: Todd Carlisle, co-adviser, carlisle@cup.edu; Margo Wilson, co-adviser, wilson_m@cup.edu.

Duquesne University: Michael Dillon, adviser, email to come; Sarah Blaisdell, president, blaisdell@duq.edu.

Indiana University of Pennsylvania: David Loomis, adviser, iupspj@yahoo.com.

Point Park College: Helen Fallon, adviser, hfallon@ppc.edu.

Waynesburg University: Sarah Bell, president, bel7461@waynesburg.edu.

Marshall University: Hilary Groutage-Weible, adviser, weible5@marshall.edu.

West Virginia University: Tom Stewart, adviser, tom.stewart@mail.wvu.edu.

OK, journalists: Edit me!

 

 

 

 

Email this to someoneTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on FacebookShare on TumblrPin on PinterestShare on Reddit
  • Carrie Buchanan

    Hi. I am indeed the John Carroll SPJ chapter adviser, but I would like my John Carroll email used for this list: it’s cbuchanan@jcu.edu

    We have not elected officers, so the listing is otherwise correct and complete.

    Regards,
    Carrie Buchanan
    John Carroll University


Newest Posts

And finally… more edits to ethics code draft September 1, 2014, 9:32 pm
New ethics code draft is REALLY final, for now August 29, 2014, 6:17 am
Ethics Code Revision: Final Draft August 28, 2014, 7:22 pm
Wearing your emotions August 28, 2014, 3:07 pm
SPJ Board endorses ethics code draft revision August 27, 2014, 4:55 pm
SPJ Digital approved by Board August 27, 2014, 4:14 pm
Expand your freelance network – join SPJ’s freelance community! August 25, 2014, 9:27 pm

Copyright © 2007-2014 Society of Professional Journalists. All Rights Reserved. Legal

Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center, 3909 N. Meridian St., Indianapolis, IN 46208
317/927-8000 | Fax: 317/920-4789 | Contact SPJ Headquarters | Employment Opportunities | Advertise with SPJ