Who’s who in Region 4

According to SPJ.org, Region 4 currently includes six professional chapters — Detroit, Mid-Michigan, Central Ohio, Cleveland, Cincinnati and Pittsburgh. Student chapters number 16, with two in Michigan, eight in Ohio, four in Pennsylvania and two in West Virginia. With efforts underway to create a new student chapter at Waynesville University in southeastern Pennsylvania, we’ll soon be at 23 chapters.

As I settle in as Region 4 director, I’d like to clean up our roster. Can you help by sending corrections to the list below? (Many of you are getting an email on this, too, but I thought I’d back it up here with a posting that I’ll revise with  your additions/deletions.) I especially need help gathering the names and email addresses of student chapter presidents.

Pro chapters

Detroit: Walter Middlebrook, president, wmiddlebrook@detnews.com.

Mid-Michigan: Melissa Anders, president, melissa.d.anders@gmail.com.

Central Ohio: Eric Lyttle, president, elyttle@theotherpaper.com.

Cleveland: Cheryl d’Mello, president, cheryldmello@hotmail.com.

Cincinnati: Alex Coolidge, president, acoolidge@enquirer.com.

Pittsburgh: Louis Florian, president, lfflorian@yahoo.com.

Student chapters:

Eastern Michigan University: Jim Pinson, adviser, james.pinson@emich.edu.

Michigan State University: Joe Grimm, adviser, joe.grimm@gmail.com.

Bowling Green State University: Mike Horning, adviser, mhornin@bgsu.edu.

Cleveland State University: Anup Kumar, adviser, akakumar@gmail.com.

John Carroll University: Carrie Buchanan, adviser, cbuchanan@jcu.com.

Miami University: Patricia Gallagher Newberry, adviser, newberpg@muohio.edu; Amanda Schumaker, president, schumaam@muohio.edu.

Ohio State University: Dan Caterinicchia, adviser, dan.cat@gmail.com; Alexis Preskar, president, preskar1@osu.edu.

Ohio University: Nerissa Young, adviser, youngn2@ohio.edu.

University of Cincinnati: Jenny Wohlfarth, adviser, jenny.wohlfarth@uc.edu.

University of Toledo: Paulette Kilmer, adviser, pkilmer@pop3.utoledo.edu.

California State University of Pennsylvania: Todd Carlisle, co-adviser, carlisle@cup.edu; Margo Wilson, co-adviser, wilson_m@cup.edu.

Duquesne University: Michael Dillon, adviser, email to come; Sarah Blaisdell, president, blaisdell@duq.edu.

Indiana University of Pennsylvania: David Loomis, adviser, iupspj@yahoo.com.

Point Park College: Helen Fallon, adviser, hfallon@ppc.edu.

Waynesburg University: Sarah Bell, president, bel7461@waynesburg.edu.

Marshall University: Hilary Groutage-Weible, adviser, weible5@marshall.edu.

West Virginia University: Tom Stewart, adviser, tom.stewart@mail.wvu.edu.

OK, journalists: Edit me!





  • Carrie Buchanan

    Hi. I am indeed the John Carroll SPJ chapter adviser, but I would like my John Carroll email used for this list: it’s cbuchanan@jcu.edu

    We have not elected officers, so the listing is otherwise correct and complete.

    Carrie Buchanan
    John Carroll University

  • yohami

    Tracy is a crazy malajusted individual who happens to be right and saying the truth, in a world manipulated by the mainstream media which no longer seeks the truth, if it ever did at all, but pushes a narrative for the highest bidder.

    “harassing the parents of dead kids”

    Have you watched the hoax theories videos and read their material? To me the only difference between these hoaxes and other hoaxes that have been accepted as such, like the Rolling Stone rape case, the -only- difference, is that with the shootings you have the whole body of media repeating the same story even though its incongruent with any kind of evidence, and no one is crossing the line to talk to the people on the fringe pointing at it. Journalism anyone. Just go there and get the data, make up your own mind. Report what you find.

  • Michael Koretzky

    Not sure I understand what you’re saying, but I’ll reply like I do…

    As a pro (albeit minor) journalist since 1989, this is the only truth I know: The mainstream media barely have their own shit together, much less the skill to orchestrate intricate coverups that don’t make them any money.

    My wife works for the government. It goes double there.

  • yohami

    Thanks for responding. The media doesnt have to orchestrate it, they just have to read the teleprompter, no? the coverup is actually very lazy. As lazy as the “report” they do on gamergate.


Twitter Facebook Google Plus RSS Instagram Pinterest Pinterest LinkedIn

© Society of Professional Journalists. All rights reserved. Legal

Society of Professional Journalists
Eugene S. Pulliam National Journalism Center, 3909 N. Meridian St., Indianapolis, IN 46208
317/927-8000 | Fax: 317/920-4789 | Contact SPJ Headquarters | Employment Opportunities | Advertise with SPJ